World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers

Take a moment to nominate courageous female journalists

World News Publishing Focus

World News Publishing Focus
Your Guide to the Changing Media Landscape

Take a moment to nominate courageous female journalists

2015 Courage in Journalism Awardees: Lourdes Ramirez, Mwape Kumwenda, Anna Nemtsova and Lifetime Achievement Winner Linda Deutsch

The deadline for this year's nominations for both the Courage in Journalism Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award has been extended to Friday, March 11. Winners receive an average cash prize of $15,000 (€13,500) and will be honoured at the annual IWMF award ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York in October.

The Courage in Journalism Awards recognizes female journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances such as government oppression, threats to personal safety, and other intimidating obstacles.

The IMWF also recognises the pioneers who kicked down barriers to make it possible for women all over the world to find their voices and make them heard. Lifetime Achievement Award winners persevered, opening doors for future generations to make a difference. 

Since last year, the IMWF also offers a separate photojournalism award, honouring Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer Anja Niedringhaus. Nominations for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award must be submitted by Friday, February 26. The winner of the 2016 Courage in Photojournalism Award will be honored with a $20,000 (€18,000) prize at an event in Washington in June. 

Award nominees must be staff or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers, or producers working in any country. Lifetime Achievement Award candidates can be either working or retired journalists. Further details on the criteria can be found here.

"I want to work in journalism for as long as I live despite the risks I have taken, and despite the fact that sometimes I feel alone in my desire to bring change to my country," said freelance journalist Lourdes Ramirez from Honduras, who was one of four women winning the award last year. "I’m determined to continue fighting till the end because I love this job, it’s the most beautiful job in the world."


Last year’s winners of the Courage in Journalism Awards



2016-02-22 14:54

Author information

The World Editors Forum is the organisation within the World Association of Newspapers devoted to newspaper editors worldwide. The Editors Weblog (, launched in January 2004, is a WEF initiative designed to facilitate the diffusion of information relevant to newspapers and their editors.

© 2020 WAN-IFRA - World Association of News Publishers

Footer Navigation